Jackson Dropout Prevention Summit

Summit Planning Team:

Community Sector



Government Agencies

Goldia Revies

Jackson Mayor’s Office

Malcolm McMillan

Jackson Police Department

William Skinner

Youth Court Judge

Ken Cockrell

Hinds Co. Human Resource Agency

Dr. Sheril Smith

MS Department of Education

Bessie Coleman

MS Department of Education

Kristy Leach

Hinds Behavioral Health Services

Young People

TBD August 29, 2008


TBD August 29, 2008


Corporate Representatives

Blake Wilson

MS Economic Council

LeRoy Walker

LTM Enterprises, Inc.

Duane O’Neill

Greater Jackson Chamber of Commerce

Haley Fisackerly 

Entergy Nuclear, Inc.

Stony Thomas

Nissan North America

Harry Walker



Sollie Norwood

JPS Board of Trustees

Dr. Lonnie Edwards

JPS Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Bonita Potter

JPS Deputy Superintendent

Nancy Sylvester, Committee Chair

JPS Director of Student Support Services

Dr. Ronald Mason

President, Jackson State University

Dr. Beverly Hogan

President, Tougaloo College

Nonprofit Groups

Gladys Bailey


Susan Womack

Parents for Public Schools

Bishop Ronnie Crudup

New Horizon Chusrch

Eric Stringfellow

100 Black Men


Jackie Hampton

Publisher, Mississippi Link

Ann Copland

Deputy Executive Director for Education, Mississippi Public Broadcasting

David Hampton

Editorial Director, The Clarion-Ledger


Anne Travis

Bower Foundation

Anthony T. Papa

Gertrude C. Ford Foundation

Elected Officials

Marshand Crisler

Jackson City Council

Hillman Frazier

MS Senate

Cecil Brown

Chair House Committee on Education, MS House of Representatives



Convened in partnership with the United Way and Jackson Independent School District, 150 local leaders attended the summit themed Destination Graduation. The goal of the summit was to review the current dropout prevention plan adopted by the school district and seek actionable ways to involve students, parents, and multiple sectors of the community at-large in implementing the plan. Each adult attendee at the summit also committed to keep one promise to help meet the goals of the plan. Next steps include reconvening the core steering committee of school district, students, MS Economic Council to implement priorities identified at the summit.

Jackson's Dropout Prevention Action Plan