Miami Dropout Prevention Summit


Summit Goals:

    • Bring together parents, youth, educators, community and business leaders around the topic of high school dropout in an effort to raise awareness of the crisis
    • Work together to develop an action plan with clear roles and measurable outcomes to address the crisis and reach our goal of increasing the graduation rate by 10% by 2015



    This summit was led by the mayor’s Office of Education Policy. Participants included city and school leaders, State Farm and leading community organizations. Over 200 people were in attendance and keynote speakers included Mayor Diaz and Superintendent Carvalho. A high level panel included representatives from the Florida Department of Education, United Bank, 11th Judicial Circuit Court of Florida and the Children’s Trust. State Farm gave the summit convener an additional $10,000 grant to host additional community conversations to help get further buy-in on the post summit Action Plan.


    Summit Planning Team:

    • Vivianne Bohorques – City of Miami Office of the Mayor
    • Martha Montaner – Miami-Dade County Public Schools – Office of Alternative Education
    • Antonio Martinez - Miami-Dade County Public Schools – Office of Alternative Education
    • Debbie Adolf – Miami-Dade Family Learning Partnership
    • Isabel Navas – Cuban American National Council
    • Donovan Sin-Lee – The Children’s Trust
    • Elizabeth Mejia – Communities in School
    • Daniel Yoder – City Year Miami
    • Eddy Barea – Ibiley Uniforms
    • Anne Thompson – Miami-Dade County Public Schools – Office of Parental Involvement & The Parent Academy
    • Sonia Lopez – Cuban American National Council
    • Will Gordillo – Miami-Dade County Public Schools – Office of Special Education
    • Debbie Montilla – Miami-Dade County Public Schools – Office of Student Services
    • Isabel Afanador – Department of Juvenile Justice
    • Marie Boswell – Department of Juvenile Justice
    • Brenda Davila – Switchboard of Miami
    • Maria Hernandez – City of Miami Truancy Reduction Program
    • Mark Zaher – Miami-Dade County Public Schools – School Operations
    • Rev. George Ellis
    • Mary Wooley-Larrea – Clerk of the Courts
    • Nadia Pressage – Sant La, Haitian Neighborhood Center
    • Gale Nelson – Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Miami
    • Yvonne Sawyer – Faith Coalition Family Center