NAACP 2011 President’s Award bestowed on General Colin Powell

Mar 10, 2011

General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret), America’s Promise Alliance Founding Chair, received the NAACP’s 2011 President's Award at the 42nd NAACP IMAGE AWARDS March 4. This prestigious award was presented by NAACP President and CEO Benjamin Todd Jealous during the live broadcast on FOX in recognition of Gen. Powell’s distinguished public service. Mrs. Alma Powell, current America’s Promise Alliance Board Chair, attended the ceremony with General Powell in Los Angeles, Calif.

"General Colin Powell has led an extraordinary life of public service" stated Jealous. "As the first African American to serve as Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and later the first to serve as Secretary of State, General Powell holds a unique place in American history. He is a man of conscience and conviction, who uses his vast influence to promote education and self esteem to our country's youth. Although his position on the Iraq War was controversial, he was often the voice of reason in the prosecution of that war. He rose from humble roots as the son of Jamaican immigrants to become a distinguished military leader, a statesman, a humanitarian and a philanthropist. He is an inspiration to us all."

Previous President's Award recipients include Van Jones, Muhammad Ali, Susan Taylor, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Ryan White, Bryant Gumbel, Alexis Herman, Venus and Serena Williams, Tavis Smiley, Tom Joyner, Condoleezza Rice, President Bill Clinton, Bishop T.D. Jakes and Ella Fitzgerald.