Promise Night 2015

On April 15, America's Promise Alliance hosted our inaugural Promise Night gala to honor the extraordinary work of five individuals who have dedicated their lives to improving the lives of children and to renew our commitment to make the promise of America real for every child.

The gala, held at the historic Howard Theatre in Washington, D.C., was hosted by NBC4’s Barbara Harrison and featured music by country legend Larry Gatlin and local band N’Demand. Our founding and current chairs, Gen. Colin and Mrs. Alma Powell, presented Promise of America Awards to Senator Lamar Alexander, Wes Moore, Randall Stephenson, and Beatrice and Anthony Welters.

Created with flickr slideshow.


“The success of our country depends on the success of our youth,” Mrs. Powell told the 300 Promise Night guests. “Our honorees are paving the way for many of our young people to thrive in school and in life. Tonight, we recognize their efforts, the progress we’ve made as a country, and the work that remains, so that every child has the opportunity and support to reach their full potential and pursue their American dream.”

We look forward to celebrating more success at next year’s gala. In the meantime, check out photos from the evening and a collection of the evening’s highlights, as told through social media posts.

2015 Promise Night Honorees

Randall Stephenson, Chairman and CEO, AT&T, Inc.

Lamar Alexander, U.S. Senator (TN)

Wes Moore, Founder, Bridge EdU

Beatrice and Anthony Welters, Co-Founders, AnBryce Foundation