Search

Youth Voice: Detention Never Stopped Me from Cutting Class. Here’s What Did.

August 08, 2018

For youth to succeed in education, we need a shelter over our heads, we need food in our bodies, and we need a community. So make sure a student’s basic needs are met before you send them to detention or punish them.
“Why Do the White Teachers Always Quit?"

August 07, 2018

Students began listing the names of teachers who had left in the middle of the year, all of them white. Ninety-eight percent of students were children of color, mostly Latino, and 86 percent qualified for free or reduced-priced lunch. It had not escaped them that the majority of teachers who had quit did not look like them.

Type: Opinion

promises: Effective Education, Caring Adults

campaigns & initiatives: GradNation Campaign

Youth Voice: Redefining the Meaning of Intervention

July 31, 2018

Harsh discipline practices focus on assigning guilt, but restorative justice works to identify why something happened and what the student and the community needs in order to move forward. It allows young people to be viewed as the holistic individuals they are, and it builds a better foundation to start conversations around relationship-building.
If teachers aren’t equipped to help trauma victims, students suffer. Learn from my story.

July 26, 2018

It took one of my kindergarten students, Andrew, to help me figure out how to handle my toughest teaching challenge.
Advice about how to raise the high school graduation rate — from students themselves

July 24, 2018

If you want to know what young people need to succeed, it turns out you should just ask them. They’ll tell you. And they’ll make it clear that neither miracles nor miracle workers are required to help more students graduate from high school and be prepared for the future.

Type: Opinion

TAG: Youth Voice

promises: Effective Education, Caring Adults

campaigns & initiatives: GradNation Campaign

I Was a Homeless Student and School Helped Me Find My Way Home

July 10, 2018

I first experienced homelessness with my family, then on my own. I was born to a single mother and a father who was absent because of post-traumatic stress disorder he developed after the war. Throughout my childhood, my mother, two sisters and I moved from home to home, sometimes not having one at all.
What’s Working: Two Key Levers for Improving College Grad Rates

June 27, 2018

This public charter school in Chicago encourages students to do two things to increase their odds of graduating from college: Raise their GPAs and attend colleges with 50 percent or higher graduation rates for underrepresented minorities.

Type: Opinion

TAG: Grad Rate Data

promises: Effective Education

campaigns & initiatives: GradNation Campaign

10 Tips for Graduating High School Seniors

June 13, 2018

As students across the country have graduated from high school, we know that the transition into the “real world” can be a challenge. Here are 10 tips that will help make the transition a little easier.

Type: Opinion

TAG: Youth Voice

campaigns & initiatives: GradNation Campaign

Youth Voice: When the Push for STEM Hurts More than It Helps

June 12, 2018

I was diagnosed during my sophomore year of high school with dyscalculia, a disorder that prohibits those who have it from understanding arithmetic. The discovery of my disability was both a blessing and a curse. A blessing, because I finally knew why I never matched up with my peers in math classes. A curse, because my high school is focused on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.
Breaking through “the Code”: Five Steps for Unlocking Success in Young People

June 06, 2018

In January 2018, City Year Senior Vice President of Team Leadership Stephen Spaloss was invited to speak at a Mental Health in Schools conference of