West Virginia Dropout Prevention Summit

Summit Location: Charleston Civic Center; Charleston, WV 

Highlights:

Governor and First Lady Manchin facilitated eight regional summits which culminated with a state summit focused on increasing rigor and improving educational outcomes for students. Speakers at the state summit included the Governor and Steven Paine, State Superintendent of Schools. Participants included representatives from the state school board and teams of local delegations from throughout the state. As a result of the summit an action planning team has been formed that will make policy recommendations to the Governor and legislature for consideration in the 2010 session.

Round Table Sessions 

  1. Why do students dropout out of school?
  2. What are the solutions?
  3. Identify recommended best practices

Summit Planning Team:

Governor’s Office

Gayle Manchin First Lady of WV

State Agencies

Clifford Cunningham, West Virginia Partnership to Assure Student Success, wvclear@wvstate.edu

Patricia Lally, Department of Maternal and Child Health, plally@email.unc.edu

Jack Wiseman, West Virginia Partnership to Assure Student Success, jwiseman@wvosea.org

Brett Sansom, West Virginia Department of Education and the Arts, bsansom@wvosea.org

Patty McGrew, Director WV Adolescent Health Initiative pattymcgrew@wvdhhr.org

Young People

Children’s Home Society of West Virginia

Mission West Virginia

Education

Adam Green, Research and Planning Analyst WV Higher Education Policy Commission, green@hepc.wenet.edu

Patricia Lucus, Education for Homeless, Attendance, Student Placement WV Department of Educationptlucas@acess.k12.wv.us

Ralph Miller, Partnership Program Manager, The Education Alliance, ralphmiller@educationalliance.org

Melanie Purkey, State Department of Educationmpurkey@access.k12.wv.us

Patty McGrew, Adolescent Health Initiative, pattymcgrew@wvdhhr.org

Nonprofit Partners

Pam Dugan, Statewide Director, WV’s Promise, pdugan@frontiernet.net

Greg Puckett, CADCA

Patty Ralston, VISTA Leader, Children’s Home Society

State Legislators and other elected officials

Mary Poling, Delegate House Education Chair, marypoli@mail.wvnet.edu

 

West Virginia's Dropout Prevention Action Plan