Alliance Trustees

Our Trustees are national leaders from all sectors who shape America’s Promise Alliance strategies, champion its initiatives and advise the Board of Directors.


Afterschool Alliance 

Jodi Grant- Executive Director 

Alliance for Excellent Education 

Deb Delisle – President & CEO 

American Academy of Pediatrics 

Jay  Berkelhamer – Past President 

Colleen Kraft - President

America's Promise Alliance Youth Trustee 

Brittany Amano – Youth Member 

America's Promise Alliance Youth Trustee 

Cristian Gaines – Youth Member 

America's Promise Alliance Youth Trustee 

Maria Salmeron-Melendez - Youth Member

America's Promise Alliance Youth Trustee 

Calvin Tran - Youth Member 

Aspen Institute, The 

Anne  Mosle – Executive Director 

AT&T Foundation 

Kelem Butts- Director of Charitable Operations

AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) 

Sandy  Husk- CEO 

Boys & Girls Clubs of America 

Jim  Clark- President & CEO 

Camp Fire 

Greg Zweber- CEO 

Campaign for Grade-Level Reading, The 

Ralph  Smith- President & CEO 

Child Trends 

Carol  Emig- President  

City Year 

Jim Balfanz- CEO


John  Bridgeland- President & CEO 

Collaborative for Academic, Social, & Emotional Learning (CASEL) 

Karen Niemi- President & CEO 

Communities In Schools 

Rey Saldana- President & CEO

Corporation for National and Community Service

Barbara Stewart - CEO

Corporation for Public Broadcasting 

Patricia  de Stacy Harrison- President 

Council of Chief State School Officers 

Carissa Moffet Miller- Executive Director 

Everyone Graduates Center 

Robert  Balfanz- President 

Institute for Educational Leadership

Dr. Johan Uvin - CEO

Forum for Youth Investment 

Karen Pittman - President, Co-Founder & CEO

Gay, Lesbian, Straight Education Network (GLSEN) 

Eliza  Byard- CEO 

Hispanic Heritage Foundation 

Antonio  Tijerino- CEO 

Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) 

Ken  Smith- CEO 

Jobs for the Future 

Adria  Steinberg- Vice President

League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) 

Sindy Benavides - CEO 

Learning Policy Institute  

Linda Darling Hammond - President & CEO

Learning Heroes 

Bibb Hubbard- CEO 


David Shapiro- CEO 

National 4-H Council 

Jennifer  Sirangelo- President & CEO

National Academy Foundation 

JD  Hoye- CEO 

National Association of Community Health Centers 

Jason  Patnosh- Associate Vice President

National Association of Secondary School Principals 

JoAnn  Bartoletti- Exective Director 

National Association of State Directors of Career Technical Education Consortium 

Ashleigh Mcfadden- Policy Manager 

National League of Cities 

Clifford Johnson- Executive Director 

National Urban League 

Hal Smith - VP, Education & Youth Development

Points of Light 

Natalye Paquin- CEO 

Rural School and Community Trust 

Robert  Mahaffey- Director  

Search Institute 

Kent  Pekel- President & CEO 

U.S. Chamber of Commerce - Institute for a Competitive Workforce 

Cheryl  Oldham- Vice President

Voices for National Service 

AnnMaura  Connolly- President


John Valverde- President and CEO

Youth Service America 

Steven  Culbertson- President & CEO